Tactical use of the overview

After reading Shae Tiann’s post about losing drones I thought I would share with people how I setup the overview.

PLEASE COMMENT IF SOMETHING IS INCORRECT Or I I should change anything that doesn’t make sense.

Definitions:

Overview vs Main screen

The bracket filter for the overview affects the main screen, the main screen is everything except the overview box, and any other boxes.

The reason for this distinction is that you can alter what is shown on the main screen AND/or what is shown in the overview.

I use 3 overviews The one shown below is the PvP overview, I repeat this process for both the PODSAFE overview and the SHOWALL overview

#########################################################################

**WORD of warning**

DO NOT UNDER ANY circumstances do this while in battle

I admit up front this is a little complex to do but…. well worth it

#########################################################################

Start with a blank or with a new overview

PVP OVERVIEW SETUP

There are two lists we will work through… Types and States

Now one by one ( don’t complain I did not design it) add back in what you want, you may want pirates on your PvP overview, add all the ships (unless your filtering for others, drones are important)

Types is first, go all the way to the bottom of that list and select {deselect all}

Types

Types selection box
Types selection box

Then go to the Celestial Objects settings select

  • Beacon
  • Wreck

Under the Deployable settings select

  • Mobile Warp Disruptor

Under Drone settings select all the drones (11)

Under NPC Select Pirate NPC

Under Ships Select all ships (35)

Structure is what I use sometimes for POS settings otherwise I leave these all unchecked

#########################################################################

States

Now come the states: States are a pain if you do not understand how they work.  The run down the list from top to bottom and it is akin to adding conditions that you want to include from the overview. If you much around with the order strange things happen I will tell you right now, weird things will happen!

Leave only the states below checked:

  1. select states to show
    select states to show
    • Pilot has bad standing
    • Pilot has Horrible standing
    • Pilot has Neutral standing
    • Pilot is an outlaw
    • Pilot is at war
    • Wreck is already viewed (optional)
    • Wreck is Empty (optional)

#########################################################################

Columns

I have only 5 columns showing in my overview

Columns to select
Columns to select
    1. Icon
    2. Names~ helpful for locating Primaries
    3. Type~ YOU absolutely MUST have this one on without this info you provide almost no info about anything meaningful  NEW players add this ASAP even in empire space
    4. Distance ~ invaluable you do know the range of your weapons don’t you?
    5. Velocity ~ incredibly useful to tell if an MWD is activated

#########################################################################

***Critical step***

Go back to the filter tab on the overview settings and Save it as PvP or whatever.

Save settings
Save settings

#########################################################################

Overview Tab

Click on the last tab called overview tab and create a new one called PvP and select the new PvP overview settings from the list as well as the PvP settings from the bracket list

#########################################################################

Bracket filtering

Brackets show either all the objects (show all) or only the filters you have selected (types) yes the names get confusing I admit.

Apply braket filtering
Apply bracket filtering
show all brackets
show all brackets

The quick way around this is to simply turn on bracket filtering when you only want to see targets on the main screen ( by colored icon) you can still actually see the ships but zooming in too close is idiotic IMO)

Now for the bad news… the sad thing about the overview is that if you reload the game or clear the cache ( have not checked this since QR) is that these settings are client side which means unless you know how to do this you have to repeat this process ‘ad nauseum.’

You need to  repeat some of this process for PODSAFE, although the SHOWALL one is quite easy to do. ~ remember to save after you set your states and types

#########################################################################

Practical application & Use

So the practical application is that I have 3 tabs across the overview:

1 called PVP with the above settings displayed ( also happen to rat in this as NPC pirates still show

1 called PODSAFE that shows only planets ( NOT MOONS, not ships not drones, NOTHING ) the Main Star in the system, and gates

1 called SHOWALL with everything on and every state checked ( in case i need to restart from a 0 point for some reason.  Yes I know I said start with 0 point above I I find it easier to REMOVE something once I get the hang of it rather than add something back in.

Sorting can be useful, and any changes here ( especially if I goofed in writing this would be GREAT) So please comment and let me know what you think.

~ by Manasiv5 on November 18, 2008.

19 Responses to “Tactical use of the overview”

  1. "Now for the bad news… the sad thing about the overview is that if you reload the game or clear the cache ( have not checked this since QR) is that these settings are client side which means unless you know how to do this you have to repeat this process ‘ad nauseum.’"

    Not sure if this is new or not, but you can import/export overview settings. Just click on the white arrow in the upper left corner and you'll see import/export at the bottom of the list that appears.

  2. ???????? ??????? ?? ??????????? ????!!! ???? ??????? ?? ??????, ????? ????? ???????????. ? ??? ???? ? ?????, ???????, ???? ?????????? 😉

  3. Doesn't removing the Bounty pilot state, removes everyone with a bounty from your overview? It seemed that way when i tried it!

    Either way awesome post!

  4. Ty YoMma 🙂 Glad you liked it

  5. This comment is late in coming…but…what a great post! 🙂 Thanks a bunch, helping me out a lot now I'm making my first ventures into PvP! 😀

  6. @Mynxee, yes true, but drones add clutter and more depth to the overview- scrolling the overview is a PITA if you can avoid it 🙂

  7. Ombey: Sorting by something other than distance means drones don't move in the overview, but does require that attention be paid to the distance column. I usually sort by name alphabetically in larger battles, so it's easier to find the ships being called primary. Something I got in the habit of doing when I was in FW.

  8. @ Mynxee brackets are very counter intuitive
    @ Tony good point…the reason I liek show all is you can right click and very quickly remove items you do not want
    @ Ka Jolo Thanks 🙂

    @Jaggins I'm not sure I'd go that farbut the thought is certainly appreciated 🙂

    @ Ombey I think drones is very useful Ill re-edit some

    ALL of you THANKS much I tried to make this helpful I am glad that you all liked it.

  9. Ah poo, Ka Jolo covered this already- sorry for the duplication

  10. Very handy, thankyou. I must go through and sort out my own overview, it's functional, but could be improved.

    One thing I would add. It's very useful to have an overvier filter that includes ONLY drones, useful for fighting drone boats; and then one that excludes drones completely.

    The trouble with drones on the overview is that if you are in a close range fight, they are skipping up and down your overview as they orbit you, and it makes targetting a ship very hard

  11. This is one of the most useful EVE posts ever! Thanks for writing at a level that a newb like me can understand. I had used the Massively article to set up my overview, but this article has helped me understand the system better and take my overview settings to the next level. It is sad to hear that this will have to be done over when I re-install the game. It takes forever to click all those boxes. (CCP should allow you to shift click to select multiple boxes at once!)

  12. I just want to add what was not made explicit in the guide–your gang mates and corp mates and allies will NOT show up in your overview, so they will NOT be accidentally targeted and accidentally shot by you.

    I have a tab for drones and one for without–depending on whether it's more important for me to take out my target's drones or to not have them cluttering up my overview.

  13. An excellent guide–this was really needed. Others out there are outdated or frustratingly brief. Thanks for taking the time to do it right!

    BTW, I get "brackets." All those objects in space have a little set of brackets that define their center point–sometimes looks like a box, or 4 corners, etc. Having said that, I don't think it is possible for CCP to have made it any more counterintuitive or confusing.

  14. Mhmm, must agree with Mynxee. I still don't get brackets at all…

    Good tips. I just make like 10 setups before hand with 5 of them loaded up the whole times. They are basically; show all, enemies, friendlies, loot, and gates. But I guess this is primarily a PvE're's loadout.

    Like you said, having a show all is very great when making setups, but I also include show non 😉

  15. Very helpful!

  16. What I stumbled on a lot was the term "Brackets" in this whole feature. Could they not have chosen a more appropriate word, like "Collections" or "Groups" or "Sets" of things you can or cannot see in space? "Brackets" ?! Take their thesaurus away NOW!

  17. I second what Mynxee already said. The biggest problem most people will face initially is the distinction between the main screen's brackets and the overviews. The ongoing problem is the client-side storage of the settings that get continually mangled. One additional thing that can cause problems with overview settings is low disk storage space. If you are running low on space, the client can decide to just replace it all with the defaults.

    I have a PVE combat setup, a mining setup and I additionally set up one for Empire travel. It has gates, stations and war targets. Everything else is ignored. This would tend to reflect my more care bear-ish tendencies.

  18. This is very helpful and I think about as clear as it can be for such a poorly designed feature of the EVE UI. Yet, getting the overview (and brackets) set up right is so helpful and dare I say, critical to one's survival in low sec? I like to have a tab that has just fleet mates on it, so i can have a quick peek and quickly assess how far the all are from me and how fast they're moving. Thanks for a great post!

Comments are closed.

 
