Logistics is killing me

SO this is something I have been thinking on for a while now.

I have resisted getting Manasi into a carrier as he is well my front line combat guy, and I don’t like the idea of carrier combat..

Instead I have an Alt, that I think will fly the Archon.  Looks like she can fly it reasonably well about 3 months time.  Getting the $ for that will be a little while.  In the interim, I think that the carrier will be my logistics link to empire.  I currently have to rely on one of our pilots to jump gear around.  I am sick and tired of this.  I am an independent guy, and  I like be self sufficient I despise NOT being self sufficient. When the logistics guy, cannot deliver goods in 2 weeks i get a little grumpy.  I try NOT to lose ships, but in fleet fights things happen.

The mule , is not easily offended or even bothered by many things, except when I cannot fight, or when others have a negative impact on my game. I admire the logistics guys very much.  They work hard and obviously need a break.

Using this ship as logistics ship hold some advantages, that I can think of.

  1. Not having to rely on someone else to jump gear
  2. Being able to collect all my stuff from around the empire and move it one fell swoop
  3. Mobility!

The other side of the coin is that if she goes poof I lose it all!

So here is  question to those that use these a large logistics ships:   What are the key skills and levels I need to be at to? :

  • Jump effectively
  • Protect the Cargo

Any help from people that use carriers would be greatly appreciated.

~Manasi ‘The Mule’

~ by Manasiv5 on April 10, 2009.

2 Responses to “Logistics is killing me”

  1. Jump drive calibration is a must !
    I have level 5 but 4 will do for most work.

    But tbh the carrier is not the be all end all problems of your logistic.
    You will be surprised how few it actualy solve 😛

    You will almost never be at any risk when jumping.
    Just keep away from Minmatar stations as when you undock you get out of docking range.

    Do some test jumps on the test server in the area you would like to operate and get familar with the stations.
    And always carry an extra cyno ship or 5.

  2. I'm a Nomad/Rorqual pilot, so take this with a grain of salt.

    First of all, Jump Drive Calibration V if you're not right next to Empire space. Not only do you save time and money by being able to make longer jumps, you reduce the time spent vulnerable recharging your capacitor because you can make the trip with less jumps. It also offers you versatility if intel indicates that your regular pitstop systems are camped.

    Secondly, Energy Systems Operation V. The faster you recharge cap, the faster you can jump again.

    Thirdly, max your tanking skills and train Hull Upgrades to IV if you haven't already. Damage Control II is a very cost-effective way of increasing your HP buffer because it also provides resistances for structure, and cap ships have a lot of structure HP. If you do get caught, you want to last long enough for the cavalry to arrive and bail you out.

    Finally, you might want to take a look at ECM drones. I haven't tried them myself, but in theory you could jam the initial tackler and bail out before the heavy hitters show up.

Comments are closed.

 
