How I 'always leave 'em guessing'

So anyone who knows me in game, knows that I get a special joy of flying new ships.  I tend to lean toward the Cruiser/ Battlecruiser/Battleship size but I enjoy new ships.

So, I have been eyeing my loverly T2 Amarr Cruisers, and myAmarr Harbinger.

This plus a few questions from some new friends starting out in EvE leads me to the post below.

wait wait wait…Manasi fly’s Amarr ships  now?  Well yes, as a matter of fact I do. T2 Heavy Pulse II’s FTW. Curse, Zealot,Harbinger..oh the joys of being able to fly different ships.

Having been in qute a few fights where I almost run out ( or give away ammo to others who have run out) Spare Crystals are no big deal, and you have got to love the time needed to change  crystals.

I realized long ago  that if I only ever fly one ship, people could figure out what it was, and could come up with a counter.  There is no single ship in eve that does nto have a weakness that can be exploited. SO now there is a whole ‘nother race of ships that I can bring to bear.

I now fly:

  • All races Frigates
  • All races Cruisers
  • 3 of 4 races interceptors
  • 3 of 4 races T2 Cruisers
  • All races Battlecruisers
  • All Races T1 Battleships

So this is not tooting my own horn, in fact much frustration has been accrued by me, because I did not have the gunnery specialties to be able to operate the guns…until recently.

Generalists tend to suffer until they get their tanking skills, Navigation, Gunnery skills, Engineering skills, and Electronics up to snuff..which admittedly take a long while to do.  remember sitting in the seat able to move the ship means absolutly nothing. Being able to tank effectively, fire more than 3 cycles (before depleting cap), and being able to use the best guns possible.  If you cannot use the best guns, tank effectively or run an MWD train more on the smaller class of ship. THEN go to the larger class.

Trust me flying a Caracal with t1 heavies, vs T2 heavy launchers is a dramatic improvement in DPS, yes, even though I do not like missile ships in PvP .

So what the training gameplan to get the most out of my time then?

KEY point your player’s RACE does not have anything to do with  the SHIPS you specialize in ( it used to, but matter not at all now)

Getting the skills trained to level 3 is a mid point but see stage four

well there are many to suite tastes but I would recommend something like:

  • Stage 1
    • Learning skills to some respectable level ~ help the player learn things much quicker
  • Stage 2
    • Navigation skills~ applies to all ships
    • Engineering skills ~ applies to all ships
    • Eletronics ~ applies to all ships… at least work on the targeting skills
  • Stage 3
    • Tanking skills
      • Shield management skills ~ primarily Caldari/Minmatar ships
      • Mechanic skills ~ primarily Amarr/ Gallente ships
    • Gunnery ~ for some Caldari, definitely Amarr, Gallente, and Minmatar ships
    • Missile skills ~ Caldari and some Minmatar ships
  • Stage 4
    • Now train your ship skill
  • Stage 5
    • backfill any skills to 4-5 as needed so you can use T2 gear

Stage 4/5 is where many veterans will say do that in reverse, but as I said this is the way I would do it as I like flying new ships types….

As a new player were I to do it all over again I’d go with Amarr/ Gallenete ships, then Minmatar ships, and Lastly Caldari ships.

Amarr/ Gallente players armor tank and use gunnery ( so you can specialize a bit as a natural progression)

Caladari primarily use Missiles, but do use guns which means you must split your training between these.   They shield tank so shield management is a big thing for Caldari ships

Minmatar are the kings of split platforms, they shield & armor tank ( meaning you must train both) They split damage (most of the time) meaning you must train both gunnery AND missiles..which again slows training

So if your starting out… specialize early, generalize later

~ by Manasiv5 on September 17, 2009.

4 Responses to “How I 'always leave 'em guessing'”

  1. Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

  2. Pretty much the same way I would train if I started over again. Specced Caldari first all the way up to BS, then branched off to Amarr. I recommend people to train both armor and shield tanking these days, at least the skills that add hitpoints, since they can be a lifesaver.

    Another great thing of full race versatility: No matter what becomes FOTM, you will have it. 😉

    With faction ships getting a boost, and my wallet growing nicely, I might fly all four races in the future thanks to Cartel ships. 😀

  3. Excellent advice. For me I got all my learning skills to 5/4 and got +4 implants within the 1st 3 months, so training speed's been pretty good ever since. From there I made use of EFT to look at the ship I wanted to fly and how I wanted to fit it, then plugged in the necessary skills to EVEMon. I started off Caldari missile spewer, so a Drake was an early example. and I did exactly as your thing suggests — got most of the basics out of the way, got into the ship, and then backfilled in the 4's & 5's I needed to use T2 in it. Only took another couple of weeks, after all, and I got to enjoy flying the ship in the meantime.

    Since then I've focused mostly on the support skills and just about have them where I want them, so i've started branching out in what I train. As a result, I can now fly:

    All races T1 & T2 Frigates, with full T2 fits.
    All races T1 and T2 Destroyers, also full T2 fit.
    All races T1 Cruisers, T2 everything except weapons.
    1 race's BS's, again, T2 fit except weapons.

    I'm working on the T2 medium weapons and piloting skills fot the T2 hulls. I actually have the T2 hull skills trained to 4's already, just am working on the "racial cruiser 5" part. Very much looking forward to flying the T2 hulls once I get there.

Comments are closed.

 
