A mournful tale…

Let us suspend our EvE internet spaceships for just a minute, and instead lets our thoughts wander to a happy place, called Blogville.

Blogville has two towns, the public knows one side as a Mule in EvE, the other is a peaceful  kind of  place, with little traffic and some information placed there.

The residents of A Mule in EvE like the noise and the banter and the good people that come to visit.  Little blogville ( it’s secluded neighbor town) is even quieter with even rows of houses and everything that a small town needs all managed by the mayor (Manasi).

One  day( last week sometime)  some evil son of a bitch decided to raise little blogville to the god damn ground.  The mayor (me) was not very happy when he found out (yesterday), in fact he became quite pissed off that someone had come in to his little town ( where not much happened and only a few people lived) and dropped a god damn A-bomb on it.  Vaporized, demolished, all gonne bye bye, no mas. Sadly, said town has now been removed, from all maps and no longer exists.

The End.

Moral of the story ( as all good stories have moral) do not I repeat DO NOT leave your WordPress installation with the default table names structure of wp_.  That is the 1 mistake I made.

Do I have backups?  Of course, I’m no idiot.  I am however pissed that some asshole decided to obliterate the posts and the pages and all the little things I had  done on my development blog.

Shortened version:

Some asshole hacked my Development blog and eliminated the posts, comments, and other stuff there, so I shut it down.

Dev news

One thing the new Dominion stuff is bring is a NICE reason to leave the NPC corps an 11% tax rate.  Thank god for that…that will certainly push folks a little to seek low tax rate corps.

Amongst all the other changes, which I have detailed in previous entries.

~ by Manasiv5 on September 24, 2009.

8 Responses to “A mournful tale…”

  1. Just a note, you probably have some other issue besides the table prefixes. If somebody can drop tables, they can find the renamed ones. The real issue is how they had sufficient DB privs in the first place to do that.

    Let me know if I can help in any way.

  2. Yea I do think you might be right..maybe this is just a step in the right direction…Yes I am not a fan of whoever hacked my development site either….thanks for the well wishes folks I appreciate them šŸ™‚

  3. That seriously does suck about the hack. Blame it on Brick šŸ˜€

    On the Eve side, I personally am of the opinion this tax thing won't really decrease, in any significant manner, the number of people in the NPC corps. I'm of the opinion, most in the corps are newbs and wouldn't know any better either way, and the rest are there for the safety against highsec war decs. I myself keep an alt in a NPC corp for that very reason, to be able to carry on with business in Empire even when we're dec'd.

  4. Sorry to hear about the hack. May karma get them. I must echo Selina's comments that an 11% tax on NPC corps just doesn't get the point across. The only folks impacted are mission-runners hanging out in NPC corps and 11% will just cut into their margins a bit. Heck, if they are just a bit smarter about selling their loot, they'll make up the difference quickly. Moreover, there are a lot more types of players that also clog up those corps and the tax does not impact them at all.

  5. /me runs off to mess with his WP database table prefix's…

    sucks to hear about that, damn hackers!

  6. Wow that sucks, sorry to hear you got hacked. Maybe the hacker is an EvE player you can hunt down and kill.

    On another note, after reading so much of your blog when I first started playing EvE and now that I'm falling deeper into the rabbit hole of EvE I've been inspired to start my own blog. So thanks again for the awesome blog.

    Siberian San
    http://deepspacetransponder.wordpress.com/

Comments are closed.

 
