Next on the chopping block

Welcome to the fourteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

The first banter of 2010 comes to us from the EVE Blog Father, CrazyKinux himself, who asks the following: As we begin another year in New Eden, ask yourselves “What Now?” What will I attempt next? What haven’t I done so far in EVE? Was it out fear, funds, or knowledge? Have I always wanted to start my own corporation, but have never dared doing so? Is there a fledgling mercenary waiting to come out of its shell? Or maybe an Industrialist? What steps and objectives will I set myself to accomplish in order to reach my ultimate goal for this year? EVE is what you make of it. So, what is it going to be for you?

One of the joys ( some might say the thing they hate) is that there really is no..”winning’ in this game, it is about experiencing  this game.

I love new experiences, this was a difficult banter to write about. I have access to all the races of ships up to battleships, including the T3 ships. SO deciding “what to do next” was a tough. I think that my next avenue will be Capital fights in my Carrier.

Capital fights are very different from other types of engagements, which is why I want to see what happens in them. Granted losing my beloved Thanatos is not something I relish , yet fear of losing something is not the way I live in RL nor in game. Calculated risk is more my style. I will (at some point) have enough in the bank to be able to risk my Thanatos without fear that it will bankrupt me for it’s loss. Money for me, continues to be a somewhat difficult prospect to come by.  I have never been able to amass billions like some other folks. Engaging an enemy in a Carrier ( especially the drone intensive Carrier like the Thanatos) seems like it will be a TON of fun.  No risk , no reward though, so if I want to have fun with this ship I will have to put her in an engagement.

Thanatos bonus’s:

http://wiki.eveonline.com/wiki/Thanatos

Gallente Carrier Skill Bonuses:
50% bonus to Capital Shield and Armor transfer range per level
5% bonus to deployed Fighters’ damage per level
99% reduction in CPU need for Warfare Link modules
Can fit Tactical Logistics Reconfiguration modules
Can deploy 1 additional Fighter or Drone per level
200% bonus to Fighter control range

Fighters

http://wiki.eveonline.com/wiki/Einherji

Imagine a small cruiser drone that follows people around ( while attacking them ) has about the cruiser (if not better) resists and oh yea I can deploy 12 of them to attack.

The heavy repairer

This ship can employ both Capital armor reppers and Capital shield reppers so she can be very valuable, in repairing operations.

Most people will know, and I am not afraid to tell folks that I LIKE versatility, that’s what the Thanatos gives me the ability to use it in more situations than say a Dreadnought.

Per normal I have steps in place to help me get there, I cannot share all of them with you. Certainly amassing the cash needed is the first step.  Once I have the cash, I will have to pick and choose which fights I want to participate in. After all I was able to amass enough cash to buy all the skills, the ship, and most of the components so far. Fighters will take just a little bit longer ( they are not cheap and damned big to transport) Once I pick the fight I absolutely must fight with others who have fought in Capitals before. ( I never intend to fly solo in this ship..we shall see how long that holds)

That was with one character, for Manasi it will be rounding out all engineering skills, gunnery skills and Spaceship command skills to level 5 ( which is just a time thing TBH) The reason to have multiple characters is to really experience different aspects of the game.

On one hand we have $, on the other we have time. We shall have to see how things turn out to determine what happens first!

List of Participants:
  1. CrazyKinux’s Musing – A beginning is a very delicate time…
  2. The Wandering Druid of Tranquility –
  3. The Elitist – Plans for 112yc
  4. Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money
  5. Ecliptic Rift – Enabling the future
  6. Inanity and Doom – New Year’s Resolutions, New Eden Style
  7. Break Vol – Blog Banter #14
  8. Guns Ablaze – What Now?
  9. Adventures in Mission Running – The Way Forward
  10. Diary of a Pod Pilot – Things I want to do
  11. Inner Sanctum of the Ninveah – The Year That Will Be
  12. Roc’s Ramblings – WordPress ate my blog
  13. Vive Virtual – Frontier Living
  14. A Mule in EVE – Next on the chopping block
  15. Prano’s Journey – I Peer Into My Crystal Pod…
  16. Life in Low Sec – Expanding the Franchise
  17. The Light of Stars – Testing the claims of CCP
  18. A Memoir From Space – A New Direction
  19. The Chronofile – Blog Banter 2010
  20. FlashFresh – What now for Flash?
  21. EVE Opportunist – Fyreite in 112

~ by Manasiv5 on January 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Next on the chopping block”

  1. The Thanatos is also my next major plan, it's a great ship in fleet combat which is something I really want to get more involved in for my corp. Good luck.

  2. Someday I would like to have a hand at flying a Capital as well. Just to be at the helm of something so powerful and a big piece on the battlefield board – must be a rush. Though admittedly – I'd be careful where I threw the dice, as not wanting to sacrifice such an expensive asset needlessly.

    I guess that's one of the big drawbacks with Titans for me – huge expensive, and these Titans seem to get demolished in the news every other day. Doesn't seem worth it.

Comments are closed.

 
