From a guppy to predator

Welcome to the eighteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by none other than me, CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

On May 6th 2010, EVE Online celebrated its 7th Anniversary. Quite a milestone in MMO history, especially considering that it is one of the few virtual worlds out there to see its population continually grow year after year. For some of you who’ve been here since the very beginning, EVE has evolved quite a lot since its creation. With the expansion rolling out roughly twice a year, New Eden gets renewed and improved regularly. But, how about you the player? How has you gaming style evolved through the years or months since you’ve started playing? Have you always been a carebear, or roleplayer? Have you only focused on PvP or have you given other aspects of the game a chance – say manufacturing. Let’s hear your story!

I prefer to think of EvE as the DEEP end of the MMO gaming pool. complicated, vicious, brutal, but beautiful in it’s complexity and depth.  there are so many sides to EvE that luckily enough I have been able to do.  Many times to a lesser extent than others but my experience has been deep and varied.

Way way back in late May 2003. Manasi was a scared little guppy swimming into the big ocean.  Schools of us “guppies” could do very little against gate rats who honestly scared the shit out of us.  In the beginning all I wanted to do was mine the rare ore’s in 0.0 I thought that more money would mean access to better stuff, I was only partially correct.  I did not really know anything at all about the game, I had no manual, even in the beginning I did not like the EvE online forums so the only way to learn… was to do.

After my first corp ( MUC) lost our CEO and two other guys I basically quit playing.  I rejoined in October 2008 after playing other MMO’s and wanting to swim in the bigger Ocean, I didn’t need a stinking lifeguard.

Now we flash forward to what I am today. No longer a small guppy but now a  Sphyraena barracuda (Giant baracudda).  Certainly I am no Carcharodon carcharias ( the Great White Shark )  nor am Ian , Orcinus orca ( the Killer Whale) {recently, an article published showed that Killer whales actually kill great whites, eat their liver, and when this happens the Great Whites run to Hawaii , from California, but enough about that}  So, I am not, nor do I claim to be, at the top of the food chain in terms of EvE. Just a fast a deadly fish in the great big Ocean that we call EvE.

When I rejoined the game in  2007, 3 years had passed, while manasi had languished in stasis.  Mining (originally) was the only way to make money, and I needed money to fly the new ships ( to this day, I still enjoy when I get in a new ship) however to me mining in EvE is boring. It was boring in 2003 and still was in 2007.

I then ran missions like a banshee until a kind soul told me I did not NEED to do so to get a jump clone( my end goal). I hated missions as they were boring as crap, repetitive in the extreme and frankly I don’t like to be bored.

I only mine when I absolutely must.I tried mining again and it felt boring and then I met the guys at VNCTI ( Valhalla Navy Technical Institute ).

With them I went to the Vale of the Silent in the North and I lived there for a short time. There is first learned some PvP basics.  In an interceptor.  Oh and I “caught the PvP Bug”.   Interceptors were all I flew for a long while, and is one of the reasons I strive to get people to learn to fly these nimble small ships.  You can fly them in a non suicidal style and survive quite well.  (Recently with all the fighting with C0ven and Stain Empire when in doubt about what was out there, size of fleets , and whether or not we could enrage I would hop in my Crow, Stiletto, Malediction or my awesome Dramiel, and have very little fear I would get shot down.) We are getting off track here, so back to history.

Then came along Alt #1 to allow me to make stuff, so an industry character was born.  I am not, nor do I claim to be, a market PvP’er, people do it, and apparently make money at it but that’s just not my cup of tea.  Industry was boring to me so I cross trained this pilot into a Carrier alt. This pilots flies my Thanatos, so far logistically but has been deployed in a  few operations.

Then we moved to Stain in June/ July of 2008.  We again fought many enemies and the skills continued to train up, when I could I switched to HAC’s.

Alt #2 came along to generate me passive income in empire, with R & D, collecting data cores, oh joy…. more missions (made better by  corp help) in getting my R & D reputation up enough to grab missions.  Since these last R&D missions  I have not run a  mission in over 22 months and this is not going to change.

PvP centric is where I am currently focused, like a laser beam.  My carrier alt now fly’s my Thanatos, my 3rd Alt now acts in a cyno generator capacity,  and I have made quite a few jumps in my Carrier.

I love the Amarr ships for not having to Carry Ammo, the Minmatar ships for the absolute devastation caused by projectiles and the Caldari for their jamming abilities.  I am fully trained in Minmatar/Amarr/Caldari  up through and included Interceptors/T2 Cruisers/Logistics/Interdictors and BS hulls. The Thanatos continues to teach me daily about more stuff that I do not know yet.

From lowly little scared miner through industry, mission running, R&D, and lastly, the most fun……. PvP combat with other pilots is by far the most fun to be had in this game! The journey has been varied and long, I would not change a thing!.

{ a side note I have had the great pleasure to swim near a  Baraccuda in the Bahamas and again near the Cayman island, one small tip do NOT wear shiny metallic objects in the water, the fish are FAST inquisitive and pretty damn fearsome to see up close}

Others linked below:

  1. CrazyKinux’s Musing: The Heroes with a Thousand Faces
  2. StarFleet Comms: Life. Evolved.
  3. A Carebear’s Journeu: This Carebear Thinks He Is Developing Teeth
  4. The Elitist: Our ventures in EVE
  5. A Mule in EVE: From a guppy predator
  6. Travels of the Ronin: Evolution and Adaptation
  7. The Ralpha Dogs: The Past Through Tomorrow
  8. Where the frack is my ship: A journey, not a destination
  9. I am Keith Neilson: 7 Year Itch?
  10. Inner Sanctum of the Ninveah: Evolution Me
  11. EVE Opportunist: A long history of a short time
  12. Roc’s Ramblings: Things Change
  13. Guns Ablaze: Onwards and Upwards
  14. EVE On Real Life: Haven’t you grown up yet?
  15. The Fang: The path of the ninja
  16. EVEOGANDA: Whoops Apocalypse!
  17. EVE SOB: Learning to swim
  18. The Life of a Dead Jester: My Time with EVE
  19. Personal Files, Ciarente Roth: Personal Diary 18.6.112
  20. Learning to Fly: Change is Good
  21. Depths Unknown: Falling With Style
  22. More as they get published…
~ by Manasiv5 on June 16, 2010.

4 Responses to “From a guppy to predator”

  1. I found your comment on barracuda entertaining. I watched a friend nearly piss himself when a barracuda snatched his necklace right in front of his mask.

    • They are exceedingly fast and an amazing fish to see in the wild. 🙂 don't blame your friend I almost did the same.

  2. so before the R&D passive income, how did you make enough money to fund your expensive, albeit, incredibly fun habit? that's my only barrier for now, making money…

    • Running Anomolies / Ratting was the only way I knew. The R & D is not a huge amount but if in need I can certainly tap into that as a reserve.

Comments are closed.

 
