flashing my epeen around

Like Cozmik I also updated the system I play EVE with. Thanks bro for the good idea !

It is certainly not something I do all that often but some people were curious in my Corp so I thought I’d share

/OOC

Granted this is not EvE replated per se so if you want  carry on about your browsing.

To update it I did some research and some planning ( as I am always fond of doing)

Motherboard: ASUS P6T http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=QtpKQuERkuYw6trc&templete=2

Water Cooler ( yes for the first time ever I use a water cooler:http://www.corsair.com/products/h50/default.aspx

** so far my temps have been 44 degrees Celsius at the high end and 37 degrees at the low end**

Case : CM Strom Sniper case http://www.cmstorm.com/en/products/chassis/sniperblackmesh/

Processor : Intel I7 920 http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=37147

RAM: 6 GB PC3-16000, 8-8-8-24, 240pin DIMM

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB striped in Raid 1 http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=552

Headset : Steel series Headset http://www.steelseries.com/int/products/audio/siberia-v2-full/information

I am debating between video cards I have some cheap ATI cards for now but I have a GTX 260 that served me well, so I am still debating.

The cost for the whole deal? about $ 800.00 US dollars, some things I bought and held till I had enough.

The reason for this post?  well I ahd backups of everything EXCEPT:

  • My builds that I had saved as personal
  • My screenshots that I was going to post today 😦

Yes, yes I knwo BAD mule BAD BAD BAD mule.  Screw it, I forgo,so go ahead try to shoot me ( see if I do not shoot back 🙂 )

/OOC

July is a little slow with EvE at times so I was going to post some nice shots I had taken…oh well, I will have to do some more then.

next time some stuff about recruitment and other news as I can release it !

~Da Mule

~ by Manasiv5 on June 28, 2010.

10 Responses to “flashing my epeen around”

  1. Even if all you get is a small, 60gig SATA II SSD for your operating system, it is still manly. However if you really want goodness (the kind of goodness you can only otherwise get by fighting off a million Persians in your underwear), you can pick up a 250gig, SATA III SSD for about $650 from los juevos nuevos. Remember, you can't take it with you, and women are not impressed by money; they are impressed by what you do with your money…and your penis.

    • LOL to the SSD …I do not want something with limited reads and writes…I do know they are fast call me a dinosaur etc it is ok I like that kind of stuff 😉

      My wife cares not a thing about my computer, nor anything else material related, as for other things so far at least she isn't complaining 😉

      Thanks for the comments all I appreciate them.

      • Ah, a wife. NOW I see why you didn't get the SSD. YOU HAS NO MONIES! Kudos for building a kick ass rig on the cheap.

  2. Merk is right on the SSD. Run to newegg (immediately) and pick up a 60GB OCZ Agility SSD. It’s $110 off, making it the best $120 your computer will ever get. I’ve heard they’re insane.

  3. What, no solid state disk drive? Are you not attracted to women?

  4. Nice setup! @other people: the Corsair H50 isn't full water cooling; it's just a single, enclosed-loop CPU cooler. I'm aiming to get an i5 750 rig this week so I can finally play EVE…

  5. Nice rig dude!

    Your talk of temperatures remind me that I need a bigger case with better airflow… *sigh* the fun never ends!

  6. 45 C seems high for a watercooled rig mate…

    Otherwise Nice rig, the thing could run a small technology .com worth of servers /w vmware. Seems a might bit over kill for EVEs requirements 😉 Then again overkill is not always a bad thing…

    Cheers

    EVE SOB

    • hmm never having used one before 44-45 Celsius at the high end.. doesn't sounds too bad 🙂 If all goes well I will use this rig at LEAST for 18- Months if not two years 🙂

      • well…My air cooled AMD quads run at 25-35C with 4GB PC3, 2 HD, and a ATI 5570. I use SFF "cube" style cases with awesome airflow. They are in my basement office in North Eastern USA. The office sits at about 75-80F (23-25C)this time of year. The hottest I've seen one hit 38C when I was running 2 instances of EVE and one of Dragonage: origins for grins.

        I've never sold into the water cooled PC concepts. I've seen a datacenter get hit by a water sprinkelr system missfire with the whole thing at full load. Man the sparks and the steam…I have never heard of any ones home system leaking though and the Datacenter incident was a result of a combination of poor judgment and faulty kill switches.

        Cheers

        EVE SOB

Comments are closed.

 
