Hulk destruction is good for EvE

Ganking hapless people is NOT my thing. Not in any way shape or form.

Yet Hulkageddon , is now in it’s Third incarnation,  via Helcity Bosun, is Well… damn almost over 2 days into effect . Once again teaching people many good lessons. Situational Awareness for one and preparedness for another.

I happen to like most pirates fairly well, to be honest, most of the best I have met; were very cool people.

Here is the short list:

  • Nashh from The Bastards,
  • Mynxeee,  from Noir Mercs ,
  • Spectre ( yes that guy) I love you and your pony too bro
  • The Hellcats
  • Shae (formerly of the hellcats)
  • the Python Cartel.

99.9991% of them are good people that play pirates in EvE.  Would I be upset if they shot me down?  nope I wouldn’t I would probably laugh and as rare as it is for me type ‘gf’ in local.

Yes they will still blow up your ship, but do not mistake that for actually hating you, they just wanna see the purty explosions.

SO Manasi you are saying that people blowing up other peoples ships in game is a good thing?  Yes indeed I am. Does that means you want t hear the wailing of carebears and the gnashing of teeth as miners are ganked by the hundreds?  Meh maybe not so much wailing, just have fun with it.

Well Manasi that seems like you condone people getting blown up and such.  Indeed I do, but not for why you may think.  I am not a really bloodthirsty guy looking to see cool explosions.  Loss seems to teach us better than anything else.  If people could set their ego’s aside ( yes I know that is very hard to do) they would come to the realization that something can be learned in every hostile encounter.

Do I wish for hulkageddon to blow up every hulk in the game?  No, what’s the point then, but by shooting people, they then have the propensity to learn something.

When the pilots learn something they become much more difficult or even impossible to caught unaware.  Awareness is key to prospering in eve.  If in the loss of a 150 M dollar ship a pilot becomes MORE aware of their surroundings and can prepare for attack at any moment, they become a better pilot. Even Helicty Bosun has people that comment each year that say,he has missed catching due to them being aware of what is going on.

Now the fact that some of the people that get proverbially smacked in the head are absolute new to the game can be distressing, new people to the game allow others who may not have experienced the game to do so, and if the very first interaction is getting blown out of the sky, admittedly that would kinda suck.  EvE whittles down those that simply cannot “take” the punishment through mechanics that teach us NO place is SAFE.  Any activity that further enhances this idea is an very good thing.

TC and watch your ass people.  Helicity Bosun and the Hulkaggeddon boys are coming for ya.

~ by Manasiv5 on July 15, 2010.

15 Responses to “Hulk destruction is good for EvE”

  1. Boson, a hypothetical particle and my name.
    Bosun, a staff position on a boat.

    😉

  2. Excellent post. Personally I love Hulkageddon and hope they keep doing it, as long as they also continue making such a big deal out of it and announcing when it is and stuff. That way my Alt can do other things while it’s going on.

    I died a lot when I started playing Eve and it was the best thing that could have happened to me.

  3. I don't think Hulkageddon is cruel to newbies, since you can't fly mining barges and exhumers without significant SP investment. Also, if you want to replace your ganked ship, you'll need to get a new one, which requires minerals in some way. Thus increasing demand and therefore raising prices of said minerals, which the miners should appreciate. The cycle of death is complete. :^)

  4. What are these Dollars you speak of, some kind of underground currency?

  5. I couldn’t agree more with this post and others who’ve expressed similar sentiments. I have no interest in partaking and live a happy hi-sec life, but every time I undock, I am aware of my surroundings and realize I could just get smacked down at random (or on purpose). That’s life in EvE.

  6. Oh, and one other thing. I was just perusing the Killmails and seeing all the fail-fits on most of those dead Hulks makes me sad.

  7. thanks for the mention dude, just a small correction; I am a motherless dog and a true Bastard loyalist.

  8. Just to clear things up, Hulkageddon is not in it's third year. The first Hulkageddon was actually less than a year ago. There have been three that all spanned late 2009 until mid 2010 (now).

    P.S. This post gets +1 for having my name mentioned in it.

  9. Did you write this a few days ago & not post? Just curious. Actualy, Hulkageddon started at 0:00 on the 9th, so it has been in full swing almost a full week.
    I have an alt that is actively participating (actually was participating until the sec status drop put the kabosh on that). It actually was the most fun I've had in the game. Do I want to become a pirate? No, but having real live targets and definite goals made the assaults that much more interesting and fun.
    Were all assaults successful? Nope. They were learning experiences for the shooters. Coordination, following FC orders, new FCs, DPS, and other issues affected our success. And yes, some miners were ready: nice tanks, paying attention to local, pointed toward a station, and even remote repping.
    However, most of the targets we came across were not manned ships, but bots. So, with a bit of cognitive dissonance, we actually were acting as space police. 😉

    BTW: I think it is Boson, as in subatomic particle, not Bosun, as in ship's crew.

    • Just trying to catch up actually I saw a post about the contest and that reminded me to write. I have been as busy as a one legged man in an ass kicking contest, in a room full of asses, with a cramp in my calf!

  10. I agree +1,000,000, and also, thanks for calling pirates nice!

    One quick fix though, Nashh Kadavr is a Bastard, not a member of Noir.

    /me represents.

Comments are closed.

 
