In the Ghetto

Welcome to the twenty-first installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month topic comes to us from @ZoneGhost who a few month ago asked “Is Low Sec the forgotten part of EVE Online?” Is it? I’d like us to explore this even further. Is Low Sec being treated differently by CCP Games than Null Sec (Zero-Zero) or Empire space is? Can one successfully make a living in these unsecured systems where neither Alliance nor Concord roam to enforce their laws? What’s needed? Or is everything fine as it is?

“On a cold and gray Chicago mornin’
A poor little baby child is born
In the ghetto
And his mama cries
‘Cause if there’s one thing that she don’t need
It’s another hungry mouth to feed
In the ghetto” ~ Elvis Presley
There are certainly three different areas of  EVE, High sec, Low nec and Null sec ( 0.0) they seem similar but one really is different. Low Sec.

I lived for a time in Empire ( it has been a LONG time since I called any part of space greater than 0.0 home) but I did indeed base from there in early 2008.  I then went to 0.0 and bypassed low sec in it’s entirety.  While in 0.0 the one place I DID not like to go was low sec, and while I will travel about through low sec I still do NOT like it at all.  It is either empty as hell OR it is brimming with pirates etc.  I do not mind the pirates really, they just doing what we do in 0.0 in their own way with their own styles.

The problem with 0.0 is that it is like living in the ghetto, the gutter , the poor areas whatever else you want to call it.

  • There is NOTHING of value there, conversely if you play there enough you are NOT wanted in empire at all, you are shunned and must use an alt to procure anything. Mining can be done safely in empire, POS are 10X easier to setup in 0.0
  • The gate guns will fire upon you when you attack incoming ships, you get global criminal countdowns and then ANOTHER countdown following that, which theoretically ( if your in a  light and fast ship) prevents docking, and if you hang around gates, some  other things as the guns will engage you.
  • There is nothing of any real value in the space, with the transient nature of low sec ratting or mining simply cannot be done efficiently.
  • You cannot anchor bubbles on gates, nor fire up Interdiction Spheres without tanking the gate guns
  • Anchoring Fueling POS is the only really safe way to play and POS have several disadvantages that stations don’t.
  • I do not have to pay exorbitant prices on gear in a pinch
  • They must use an alt to bring in gear

It is to be honest, a ghetto no one wants to go there, when there you either have to get in /get out or wait till someone else attacks you.  There is no value expcept to one side of you (hi sec) or the other (0.0)

I will contrast that with my life in 0.0.

  • I can go anywhere in empire without guns wanting to shoot me, I can engage in almost every activity ( except ransoms) as I’d rather they die.
  • I get great anomalies to make some cash in. I can mine if that is what I want.
  • I can drop bubbles on gates to limit exposure of a system to enemies ( or at least slow em down)
  • I can build any ship I want, and I can control my own destiny.
  • I can rep my ship for free in our station
  • We have a small but decent market where I live in 0.0 and can go to Jita to get gear

Now why the hell would I live in Low sec given all the negatives?  I would not. Hell no, not with even Mynxee to oogle nor Shae to stare at constantly ( it was tempting ladies but nope not gonna do it) 🙂 ( i know niether of them are probably IN low sec anymore but is was a fantasy mind you.) According to my favorite mule lover ( wait that doesn’t sound  right…meh nvm) They are BOTH in low sec! I was  a bad mule and forgot.

Can you make a living?  Heck yes, but it is 10X harder than it needs to be with only downsides from a game perspective.

Make it a better place, stop treating it like the ghetto in Calcutta give it something of value for those that want to live there.  Lets get CCP to fix this broken down ghetto like existence for those dedicated pilots that call this “home”

Along that line of thinking a very nice pirate lady reminded me of her project:

Check out these other good posts

  1. CrazyKinux’s Musing: The Lure of the Wild
  2. Banter 15: Arr, Yer be talkin’ bout me lowsec | TheElitist
  3. Banter 21: Low-sec- Chocolate Heaven
  4. Subs’ suds: Forever a noob in Eve: Low-Sec – the forgotten part of EVE Online
  5. Blog Banter XXI – Lo-sec = Low Priority? | I am Keith Neilson
  6. where the frack is my ship?: Blog Banter 21: What’s good for the goose…
  7. Blog Banter #21: Change? | Sarnel Binora’s Blog
  8. Low Sec = Wild West ~ Inner Sanctum of the Ninveah
  9. a merry life and a short one: Low Sec: I Wanna Talk to You
~ by Manasiv5 on September 29, 2010.

10 Responses to “In the Ghetto”

  1. I live in low-sec. I like low-sec. Why? Well, since we're making lists:

    1. I can wear expensive implants without too much worry about being podded.
    2. I can roam solo in most ships with a good chance of surviving gatecamps.
    3. I can roam solo in most ships and be effective.
    4. I rarely get chased by 70 man blobs, and they never have a jump bridge network to cut me off and fence me in.
    5. I can roam in a small gang and find fights with other small gangs.
    6. I can make a living, and a respectable one, by doing only what I want to do – PVP.
    7. My corp can stay fairly small but effective, and we don't have any need of an alliance, blues or politics.
    8. Having a close knit corp means I know and trust each person I fly with and enjoy flying with them.
    9. I have a meaningful role, both in corp and in fleet – rather than feeling like a cog in a wheel so to speak.
    10. I can go 2 weeks without logging in, and no one will say anything but 'How have you been?'.
    11. I can show up to or skip corp ops at my leisure and my fleets spend more time fighting than waiting. I can throw together my own fleet with whoever happens to be on anytime and go find people to shoot.
    12. I can go 2 weeks without logging in without worrying I'll log back into enemy space.
    13. I can always log in and play. Station and gate camps are a hindrance but almost always avoidable in almost any ship.

    All that said, I do agree the low-sec is the ghetto of EVE. The unfortunate part about it is that it's populated almost exclusively by three types of people: (Yay, more lists)
    1. Newbies, who don't realize there is more money to be made doing the same things elsewhere – with generally less risk.
    2. People who are there to kill newbies.
    3. People who are there to find good fights.

    Basically, the problem with low-sec is that there's no intrinsic value to being there; nothing to attract people who know what they're doing other than shooting at one another, with a necessarily a negative sum outcome.

  2. Interestingly enough, when looking at possible wormhole systems to live out of, exits to Null were even preferred to low-sec. And this is without any real relationships with null dwelling entities. It just makes sense to either to come out in null or in high security space.

  3. Love your writing style. Disagree with the ghetto analagy though. I loe my low-sec the way it is.

  4. Yep low sec stinks and there is really no good reason for it to even be there honestly, which is very sad. But, like any Ghetto, it can be cleaned up and made a place that people will want to visit, open businesses and start a family.

  5. Very true.Low sec is lacking in quite some areas.
    I myself believe it's because CCP is just indifferent to Low sec.
    Read my post at
    http://omnisarcanumofeve.blogspot.com/2010/09/is-

    • I tried to comment on your blog sadly I could not get the comment screen to come up…sometimes I hate the blogger platform.

  6. Tsk tsk, Shae and I are both in Low Sec and proud members of VETO. Her for awhile now; me for a few weeks. Keep up, Mule!

    Me, I think there is real potential for Low Sec if only it had a reason for existing. The Making Low Sec Matter Project is all about trying to define that potential and get CCP to give it some attention.

Comments are closed.

 
