New ship in the Hanger

Marauders here I come.  Finally after BS 5 on the Amarr, Caldari and the Minmatar battleship hulls I decided this weekend to pick up the Vargur.   Alright.. “decided” isn’t the right word… but keep reading.

Minmatar Battleship Skill Bonus: 5% bonus to large projectile turret rate of fire and 10% bonus to large projectile turret falloff per level

Marauder Skill Bonus: 7.5% bonus to shield boost amount and 7.5% bonus to large projectile turret tracking per level

Role Bonus: 100% bonus to large projectile weapon damage, 100% bonus to range and velocity of tractor beams

Needless to say I look at a ships bonus’s to see what she is designed to do.

The Vargur  to be honest, I bought in a  fit of ” oh isn’t this  good price”, now I can only implore you the kind reader to send me a fit I might use, dammit I hate messing up like that…sigh. If you have any fits for the Vargur please do not be stingy, probably in the Ratting Category against Blood Raiders but I’d be curious about PvP fits as well.

I was able to bring out “your dead” I  mean ” dread” and help re-acclimate myself on Tranquility as to the natures of this ship.  We had some fun just shooting a target or two down and dusting off the Capital ( and actually engaging my Dread was a fun exercise.

The weekend was full of some defense fleets/ some roaming about and a couple very long meeting ( oh joy)  All in all there was a few good fights, some fights that were not so good, and much talking about ideas etc.

In good news looks like two fellow directors MIGHT be in the Area ( another  little birdie director told me) so maybe I will get to actually meet two of our Directors that I have been working with for more than dear Lord 3 YEARS!

Wow it has been three years since I first debuted on the scene, 2008 October I was in the “Vale of the Silent”, with my old Corp,  VNCTI ( Vahalla Navy Technical Institute ) that has indeed been a LONG time back.

Manasi is cracking 45M SP now so long skills training times are more the norm than the exception.

Good Hunting all!

~ by Manasiv5 on October 4, 2010.

6 Responses to “New ship in the Hanger”

  1. Thought I'd leave a Plex fitting since you're 0.0 and everything.

    [Vargur, Plex]
    Republic Fleet Gyrostabilizer
    Republic Fleet Gyrostabilizer
    Republic Fleet Gyrostabilizer
    Republic Fleet Gyrostabilizer
    Damage Control II

    Pith A-Type X-Large Shield Booster
    Dread Guristas Invulnerability Field
    Dread Guristas Invulnerability Field
    Caldari Navy Shield Boost Amplifier
    Caldari Navy Shield Boost Amplifier
    True Sansha Heavy Capacitor Booster, Cap Booster 800

    Dual 650mm Repeating Artillery II, Fusion L
    Dual 650mm Repeating Artillery II, Fusion L
    Dual 650mm Repeating Artillery II, Fusion L
    Dual 650mm Repeating Artillery II, Fusion L
    Improved Cloaking Device II
    Small Tractor Beam I
    Salvager II

    Core Defence Capacitor Safeguard II
    Projectile Ambit Extension II

    Valkyrie II x5

  2. Marauders are strictly PVE ships. The fit that Isaac has is a pretty typical one and so far, I really haven't heard any decent 1200mm fittings (though there are some out there.. I will be testing them shortly when I get my Vargur, but everything I've heard its a real bear to get them in there). But you absolutely don't want to use a Vargur for PVP. You'll notice that the sensor strength is very, very low so you can be easily ECM'ed.

    The only change I would make to the above setup is to replace one of the tractor beams with a Core Probe Launcher, but only if you plan on doing Signatures.

    • good call on the probe launcher 🙂 I asked about the PvP as we ran into a couple ( not many Marauders about 14 months ago that had some FEARSOME DPS

      • Oh yeah, they can be wicked. However, considering they have a scan strength of only 11 (the minmatar T1 frigate, the Vigil, has a scan strength of 12), then pretty much any PVP ECM is doom to it.

  3. This is a pretty common fit, but it works plenty well enough for missions, and marauders in general are complete overkill for ratting.

    Vargur, MissionFit

    800mm Repeating Artillery II
    800mm Repeating Artillery II
    800mm Repeating Artillery II
    800mm Repeating Artillery II
    Small Tractor Beam I
    Small Tractor Beam I
    Salvager II

    100MN Afterburner II or Tracking Computer II (fit to taste)
    X-Large Shield Booster II
    Rat Specific Hardener II
    Rat Specific Hardener II
    Invulnerability Field II
    Medium Capacitor Booster II (use with 800's)

    Gyrostabilizer II
    Gyrostabilizer II
    Gyrostabilizer II
    Tracking Enhancer II
    Tracking Enhancer II

    Large Projectile Burst Aerator II
    Large Capacitor Control Circuit I (or whatever else you can fit)

    Use faction modules as you see fit. The tracking is pretty insane, can hit frigs as close as 20km as long as you keep your transversal up. Everything else just melts, and with the bonus and the TE's, it has enough falloff to hit just about any rat. The cap booster is there in case you should ever find yourself in a situation where you'll need to run the booster for a bit (not often), and the cargo is big enough to hold plenty of cap 800's. Enjoy.

Comments are closed.

 
