loyalty isnt for sale

Welcome to the twenty-second installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month topic is brought to us by L’Dene Bean of Nitpickin’s who asks: Why, and how did you pick your corporation? Is your loyalty solid or just until a better placed organization “recruits” you. The shorter version: Who holds your Unshakable Fealty and why?

A good question indeed.

Lest define one word: Fealty

–noun, plural-ties.

1.History/Historical.

a.fidelity to a lord.

b.the obligation or the engagement to be faithful to a lord, usually sworn to by a vassal.

2.fidelity; faithfulness.

Ok so how faithful am I to my Corporation? Exceedingly so is the answer.

The why is the interesting part.  Whee I started this game I did not know a single soul I met(quite by accident)  some nice people and mined with them in the scary as shit never before explored world of EVE circa 2003.  The game had REALLY drawn me in and when several members of the corp were injured in a  car crash and could not play anymore, I bailed out as EvE was very lonely this was Jan, 2004.

Flash forward to August 2008, and co-worker hanging out with us for the summer, mentioned it and I looked up my old account and Sure enough he was still there.  manasi was reborn.  So much had changed I had completely forgotten most things with the game.  I met VNCTI near a mission running hub and went grinding my sec status to 8.56 with the Caldari Navy ( where it still is today) to get access to a Jump Clone facility in Empire.  Once I secured this the Corp decided to try 0.0 and went to the Vale of the Silent.

Till now I had been a member of the corporation but was just trying to relearn the game.  I started trying my best to help the Corporation out. learned that a drake was not a good PvP ship and was told Minmatar were awesome.  They steered me towards PvP.  Then VNCTI merged with Ceptacemia and 3 months of training and practicing and learning PvP in the Vale of the Silent began.  With PvP comes loss,,with loss comes disappointment, with disappointment comes irritation.  This irritation was not allowed to grow instead the corporation taught me that loss is the way of the game.  When I lost y first clone the next clone that I made they GAVE me a ful set of +4’s, people Gave me ships so that I would not worry about the cost.  Guys were patient with me to teach my how they thought it was best to fly and fit ships.  THEY taught me all I know.

Along the way we became friends.  I have met all but 1 of the directors and 2 of the regular members in real life.  I go out of my way to invite people coming here to dinner or lunch and whatnot to meet these guys I have been flying with for about 3 years come to where I live.

My corporation is more than my friends though, it is a group of many various people all coming together for one goal as stated in oru motto ” fighting solves everything”.  We fight together die together and as a result they have become my second family, they mourn at the loss of loved ones and celebrate rl and in game victories.

Yes it is just a  game but by extension it has given me friends I would never have met.  Through the corporation I have net some awesome people.  Guys in Sweden ( yea that’s you Mr. CEO  Carl and ever awesome Dusk) a couple good guys in Holland ( yes Luxo and Paul) fellas in England ( hey Pritch1) and folks all over the US (Austin, Clearwater(2), Philadelphia, Phoenix, Ohio, Montreal, South Carolina) just to name some of the places.

Without my corp I woudl never have moved to 0.0 I woudl never have been given the CHANCE to become better, I woudl have never been given the CHANCE to join an Alliance nor would I have met some awesome Alliance folks: (darth, Blake, Muffcobb, Miller,Ruafo, Ivan) also just to name a few of the great people I ahve had the pleasure to meet.

My corporation is my little online family that I never knew I had, trite maybe, pathetic even but blatantly  truthful.

TL;dr

They have all the anyone could want in any situation:

  1. Someone to watch your back
  2. Someone that you can trust
  3. Someone that when push comes to shove will hold the line and do what is right.
  4. Guys that hold their personal integrity as something near and dear.

There is no amount of ISk, no ship you could offer, nothing that this game has to offer that would shake my loyalty in these guys, because int he end WIHTOUT them I woudl ahve the same as if I never played…Nothing.

Once more into the breach dear friends, once more.

I will link more banters as I find them:

~ by Manasiv5 on October 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “loyalty isnt for sale”

  1. I've met a good number of the players i enjoy the game with. R/L gets us all – we enjoy one another and the games we play. Loved your blog by the way!

  2. Bummer, I still haven't actually real world flesh met anyone I know in Eve. Not that I know of anyway. My son tells me that several of the students in his school play Eve and that one of them (he can't figure out which one) is a Titan pilot in -A-. Oh my, the mind wanders… but it is just a game.

Comments are closed.

 
