BB24:RL + EVE =

Welcome to the twenty-fourth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com

Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month’s Banter topic comes to us from the ever helpful Eelis Kiy, capsuleer behind the “Where the frack is my ship” blog. She asks: How does your real life personality compare to who you are as a character in EVE? Does a good leader of people in the real world make a good leader of pilots in game? Or vice-versa? Do your real-life skills help you with the roles you fulfill in your corporation or alliance? Or do you behave completely differently? Does the anonymity of the Internet allow you to thrive on the tears of others in New Eden whilst you work as a good Samaritan away from your keyboard? Or are you as mean outside of your pod as you are inside it? Have experiences in EVE Online affected your behavior, skills or attitudes outside of the game?

Way back when I started playing EVE, in 2003, I knew not one soul I just wandered around in a tiny little ship (not realizing I could train all the time)fearing the NASTY gate rats, mind you they WERE mean and lo and behold I found my first corp.  Mining Unlimited or MUC.  I played with them for some months and enjoyed the game but became too embroiled in other people’s lives.  Much to my dismay several of the guys were in a big car accident ( all but 1 survived) and  every time I logged in I could not think of anything but those fellas laying broken in a bed somewhere.  So I walked away from the game.  I had invested a bit too much into EVE and wound up feeling a bit lost, for lack of a better word.

After EVE I moved around from MMO to MMO, and went by many names had some fun but when I found myself getting drawn in too deeply I woudl simply say thanks to those I knew and depart for another game.

April 2007 came along and I really wanted to play a Sci- Fi game again and I remembered EVE.

This time ‘no guts no glory’, making sure that I set aside time for others in my life (Mrs Mule, brother mule, mother Mule, and friends of mule) balancing RL with EVE is not hard it just takes work.  I realized only a short time ago that some of my friends are not people I have ever seen in RL.  I log on to hear the different people listen to different things and just say hey and whatnot, we help each other out, we talk about our families and we just get along.  Not sure what drove me to separate myself from that the friends I had, perhaps perspective is easier when we get older. Balancing between my EVE buddies and my family/friends is an excercise that requires practice, but it can be done.

To answer the questions:

How does your real life personality compare to who you are as a character in EVE? Hmm well my personality in RL is an extrovert, generally friendly and not terribly difficult to talk to, on the plus side.  On the negative side i do NOT get along well with people who just are plain stupid. I loathe and detest those who are intent on ruining things just for ruins sake. I am generally a very law abiding guy. Hell even in EVE my sec status is 5.01.  I will give the shirt off my back if you needed it and if any in my corp needed something I’d do it no matter how hard or difficult.  Strangers I am short/curt with, just because I am a wee bit paranoid (so far I have caught upwards of 30 spies so I would say reasonably paranoid) but if they can survive the short terse words through an introduction I generally warm to folks I like pretty fast.

Does a good leader in RL make a good leader in game? Yes, a leader whether they be a virtual one, or otherwise must be able to motivate the people to do something.  Especially when one can be very anonymous, a good charismatic leader is a good part of a solution.  The other part is organization, you damn well BETTER be organized or the simple flood of information will just overwhelm a single person. Learning to delegate to others is a skill better learned in RL and put to use in EVE rather than the other way around.  Delegate to the wrong person and your in for a world of hurt.

Do real life skills help you in game? Hell yes, if you cannot lead folks in RL then the ability to do so in the game might be very foreign to you, all of us in large alliances have had the displeasure of seeing an brand new FC bow out just before a big fight.  Or we have heard the hesitation in their voice, or the excitability, neither of which are wanted or are helpful.  Dealing with pressure is a key RL skill that FC’s and others need to be able to do.

Does the anonymity of the Internet allow you to thrive on the tears of others in New Eden whilst you work as a good Samaritan away from your keyboard?….Your reputation amongst other pilots is your only form of currency that is usable in EVE, if you have a bad reputation or a bad history most people will not even look at you.  Being a recruiter first hand I look and value a good reputation, likewise a bad reputation will ruin you.

Or are you as mean outside of your pod as you are inside it? I try to be the same guy inside or out of the game, yes certainly I do not go around blowing up people’s stuff outside EVE, so keep that in mind. I try to help folks out and realize that sadly not everyone needs or wants some help 🙂

Have experiences in EVE Online affected your behavior, skills or attitudes outside of the game? Experiences in EVE affecting my RL views?  To a degree I did not know much about other countries points of view or cultural idiosyncrasies.  I play with people al over the world, in Real time, and learn how they behave, or misbehave.  You come to learn who you can agree with and who you cannot. SO opening my eyes to other folks has been a big thing.  As for skills I ahve learned how to operate and harden and use a LAMP server setup ( which I did not have much previous experience on).  My attitude is one that really has not changed, aside form seeing things I think would improve things for large alliances, my stibborn attitude seems to serve me quite well.  My memory ( ever sharp) also seems to help em in game where so much complexity abounds.

I will add other bloggers who write on this at the bottom :

1. EVE Blog Banter #24: Be, all that you can be, and so much more!
2. BB24:RL + EVE = | A Mule In EvE
3. Freebooted: BB 24: You Talking to Me?
4. where the frack is my ship?: Blog Banter 24: Behind the keyboard
5. (OOC) CK’s Blog Banter #24: I Am Prano. « Prano’s Journey
6. mikeazariah » Blog Archive » BB24 Who are you, who hoo woo hoo
7. Drifting: The 24th EVE Blog Banter (January 2011 Edition) – EVE and Real Life
8. Victoria Aut Mors » Blog Archive » Blog Banter #24 – Where Eve Meets Real Life
9. Who is more real?? « The Durzo Chronicles
10. Captain Serenity: blog banter #24 – Personalities
11. Confessions of a Closet Carebear: EVE and Real Life (EVE Blog Banter #24)
12. The 24th EVE Blog Banter – EVE and Real Life – The Phoenix Diaries
13. EvE Blog Banter #24: EVE and Real Life EvE Blasphemy
14. Blog Banter 24: In Real Life « Yarrbear Tales
15. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Alt « the hydrostatic capsule
16. Blog Banter #24 – Me « Roc’s Ramblings
17. Blog Banter: Personalities in game and out of game
18. Fiddler’s Edge: Game Face – Eve Blog Banter #24
19. Progression’s Horizon: Blog Banter 24- Synonymous or Anonymous?

Take care and Good Hunting!

~ by Manasiv5 on January 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “BB24:RL + EVE =”

  1. I think my active times have been uncannily similar to yours, but with less tragedy. I'm sorry to read about the car accident and it's entirely understandable why that put a negative slant on your association with EVE.

    I'm in total agreement with you on the reputation=currency issue. Trust is indeed the most valuable commodity in-game. Despite occasionally play-acting the rogue, I treat everyone in game with respect and honesty. It's good to see that not everyone aims to be a total git. More power to you.

    • Thanks siesmic 🙂 yes it is odd how things across multiple pilots share similar patterns.

      Respect is very important and one of the things I try my best tom maintain at all costs!

Comments are closed.

 
